mantras

mantrasThe above picture is a nice little analogy for triathlon / Ironman / marathon / life – whatever you do is all about taking steps – steps in the right direction; steps forward, sometimes steps backwards, and steps up and maybe down – either way, you have to negotiate your way through the challenges to move forward and progress. 

  • ~3years ago, I could barely run > 1km in one go – I can now run a half marathon.
  • ~2years ago, I was a pretty average swimmer – I can swim now, and I’m not half bad in my opinion.
  • ~2years ago, the thought of riding 56.1miles [the 0.1m is very important to include] would NEVER even cross my mind – I just plain simple would NOT have been able to do it – I can do it now, and in a pretty decent time.

It just shows after some time, training, energy, effort, and self-belief that you can do anything if you put your mind to it.

That said, when things are against you [and even when they’re are not] – having a mantra may help.

Just channel your inner Nemo & just keep swimming.

nemoThe words of wisdom in the Tri Training Harder section of the athletes guides got me thinking about mantras.

Triathlon can be a lonely place when the chips are down – and I know first hand when I’ve been having a tough time, at London 2014 for example, and on some longer tougher training rides, that having a mantra is actually pretty helpful.

So here’s my top 10 mantras…


It’s not meant to be easy.


Do or don’t do – there is no try – Yoda.*


Pain is weakness leaving the body.


What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.


Believe. Strive. Achieve.


Think of a half marathon as x4 5k runs with an additional 1k at the end.


You’re stronger with every step.


Embrace the pain.


Tired is just a state of mind.


Pain is temporary – quitting is forever.


Going full circle now I think the image from this blog entry back in January is pretty powerful.

Motivate.

*there is one thing in life that you can always rely on; and that is that Yoda knows his shizzle..


One thought on “mantras

  1. Pingback: Things are getting real now… | 2015 the year of the Half Ironman

Leave a Reply

